Johnson State College Badgers


Contact

Address: 337 College Hill Road Johnson, Vermont
Athletics Telephone: 802-635-1486
Athletics Fax: 802-635-1497
Official Athletic Website | University Website | Directions

Staff

President: Barbara Murphy
Director of Athletics: Jamey Ventura
Faculty Athletic Representative: James Black
Senior Woman Administrator: Kristin Cannon
Sports Information Director: Elaine Harvey
Athletic Trainer: Jacqueline Walsh

Key Facts

Enrollment: 35% (Men) 65% (Women)
Student-Athletes: men - 79 women - 72
Sports Sponsored: men - 6 women - 7
Tuition: in state- $9,312 out of state - $20,976


Directory

Name Title Phone Email
Jamey Ventura Athletic Director (802) 635-1285 Jamey.Ventura@jsc.edu
Jacqueline Walsh Athletic Trainer (802) 635-1487 jacqueline.walsh@jsc.edu
Kristin Cannon Senior Woman Administrator (802) 635-1498 Kristin.cannon@jsc.edu
Elaine Harvey Sports Information Director (802)-635-1384 Elaine.Harvey@jsc.edu
James Black Faculty Athletic Representative (802) 635-1298 james.black@jsc.edu
Bill Boldwin Golf Head Coach (802) 363-6822 William.Boldwin@jsc.edu
Tommy Verdell Men's Basketball Head Coach (802) 635-1470 thomas.verdell@jsc.edu
Michael Loughran Men's Lacrosse Head Coach (802) 635-1468 Michael.Loughran@jsc.edu
Iain Manson Men's Soccer Head Coach (207) 712-4967 iain.mason@jsc.edu
Charles Yerrick Men's Tennis Head Coach 802-888-5067 Charles.Yerrick@jsc.edu
Robert Gervais Softball Head Coach (802) 782-6476 robert.gervais@jsc.edu
Mark Kaufman Women's Volleyball Head Coach 802-578-1854 Mark.Kaufman@jsc.edu
Greg Eckman Women's Basketball Head Coach (802) 635-1483 greg.eckma@jsc.edu
Kristin Cannon Women's Soccer Head Coach (802) 635-1498 Kristin.Cannon@jsc.edu
Michele Whitmore Women's Tennis Head Coach (802) 635-1452 Michele.Whitmore@jsc.edu
Shawn Woods Cross Country Head Coach (802) 635-1468 shawn.woods@jsc.edu



Johnson State College sits on 350 hilltop acres in the heart of the Green Mountains. Our academic offerings span 25 Bachelor's, three Master's, two Associate's, one certificate and 11 teacher licensure programs. Enrollment for the 2010-11 academic year numbered 2,000 students.

Johnson State's small size promotes close student-faculty relationships, creating many opportunities for you to travel, go to professional meetings and/or conduct research with your professors. Meanwhile, our belief in learning by doing encourages you to translate theory into practice in the lab, K-12 classroom, art studio and beyond.

Our commitment to student success is guided by the belief that higher education transforms lives. Whether you want to build on your existing skills or develop completely new ones, we help you to become what you dream.

When you graduate from Johnson State, you will leave with more than a degree. You will also possess the skills, knowledge and understanding that form the basis for career success, civic involvement and a lifelong love of learning.

Athletics

The Johnson State College Athletics Department offers competitive varsity programs for skilled student-athletes as well as recreational, intramural and wellness programs for all members of our community.

Committed JSC student-athletes have the opportunity to participate in NCAA Division III athletics. We field 12 varsity teams – men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross-country, men's golf, men's lacrosse, men's and women's soccer, women's softball, men's and women's tennis and women's volleyball – all of which compete in the 10-member North Atlantic Conference.

While our teams strive for success on the court and field, we realize there is more to an athletic program than wins and losses. JSC takes a broader view, encouraging student-athletes to develop lasting friendships, maintain a healthy lifestyle, and improve both as an individual and as a teammate. In addition, a top priority is to help and encourage student-athletes reach their potential academically.

However, you don't need to be on a varsity team to enjoy an outstanding athletic and recreational experience at JSC. In addition to our nearly 30 intramural programs, students enjoy on-campus access to the Student Health and Physical Education (SHAPE) Fitness Center (a 7,000-square-foot multi-use facility), eight miles of cross-country trails, a snowboard park, and a 18-hole disc golf course.



View: Mobile | Desktop