Maine Maritime Academy Mariners


Contact

Address: 54 Pleasant Street Castine, Maine
Athletics Telephone: 207-326-0299
Athletics Fax: 207-326-2513
Official Athletic Website | University Website | Directions

Staff

President: Dr. Bill Brennan
Director of Athletics: Steve Peed
Faculty Athletic Representative: Betsy Reese
Senior Woman Administrator: Tricia Carver-Watson
Sports Information Director: Matt Blymier
Athletic Trainer: Heather Linnell

Key Facts

Enrollment: 830 (Men) 140 (Women)
Student-Athletes: men - 174 women - 64
Sports Sponsored: men - 6 women - 5
Tuition: in state- $9,080 out of state - $19,900


Directory

Name Title Phone Email
Steve Peed Athletic Director (207) 326-2451 stephen.peed@mma.edu
Heather Linnell Athletic Trainer (207) 326-2459 heather.linnell@mma.edu
Tricia Carver-Watson Senior Woman Administrator (207) 326-0253 tricia.carverwatson@mma.edu
Open  Sports Information Director (207) 326-2451 stephen.peed@mma.edu
Betsu Reese FAR (207) 326-2168 betsy.reese@mma.edu
Chris McKenney Football Head Coach (207) 326-2453 cmckenney@mma.edu
Craig Dagan Golf Head Coach (207) 326-2372 craig.dagan@mma.edu
Chris Murphy Men's Basketball Head Coach (207) 326-2453 chris.murphy@mma.edu
Adam Sherman Men's Lacrosse Head Coach (207) 326-2140 adam.sherman@mma.edu
Travers Evans Men's Soccer Head Coach (207) 326-2112 travers.evans@mma.edu
Tricia Carver-Watson Softball Head Coach (207) 326-0253 tricia.carverwatson@mma.edu
Tricia Carver-Watson Women's Volleyball Head Coach (207) 326-0253 tricia.carverwatson@mma.edu
Craig Dagan Women's Basketball Head Coach (207) 326-2372 craig.dagan@mma.edu
Seth Brown Women's Soccer Head Coach (207) 326-2484 seth.brown@mma.edu
Ryan King Cross Country Head Coach (207) 326-0136 ryan.king@mma.edu



One of only six US institutions providing maritime education, Maine Maritime Academy is highly regarded for its' practical, hands-on approach to education and training which prepares students for professional careers. Located in historic Castine, Maine in a spectacular coastal setting, Maine Maritime was established in 1941. An extensive ocean-related curriculum includes majors in engineering, marine biology, ocean studies and international business and logistics. Total enrollment is slightly over 900 students.

 Two different lifestyles exist at Maine Maritime: traditional and regimental. Just over half of the student body are pursuing a US Coast Guard license and are majoring in marine engineering, nautical science, or marine transportation. These students are members of the regiment of midshipmen. All other majors have a choice of lifestyle.

 The State of Maine training ship, tugboat Pentagoet, several research vessels, and recently renovated bridge simulator labs are all examples of opportunities for practical application of classroom theory. MMA graduates enjoy a worldwide reputation for excellence and are desirable targets for employers upon completion of their degree.



View: Mobile | Desktop