April 29, 2010

NAC Softball All-Conference Teams Announced

Junior outfielder Dorothy Cameron of Husson University was selected as the North Atlantic Conference Softball Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Cameron was among the league leaders in numerous statistical categories including batting average (.509), slugging percentage (.709), onbase percentage (.517) and RBI (17) while scoring a league leading 20 runs with nine stolen bases as the Husson Eagles went undefeated in conference play.

Teammate Aimee Mortensen was honored as the NAC Softball Rookie of the Year. The freshman third baseman hit .500 in conference games with a .558 on base percentage while scoring 13 runs and driving in 15 leading Husson to the top seed in the upcoming NAC Softball Tournament.

After leading her team to an 11-3 conference record and second seed in the NAC Championship, Maine Maritime’s Katrina Dagan was named NAC Softball Coach of the Year. The Mariners improved nine-games over last season and set school records for wins and winning percentage with a 20-5 overall record.

Lyndon State College was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

2010 NAC Softball All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team   
1B/C McKell Barnes Farmington Jr
3B/P Hilary Bemis Castleton Sr
DP/P McKenzie Burke Maine Maritime Fr
OF Dorothy Cameron Husson Jr
OF Katie Jablonski Green Mountain Sr
C Leah Jackson Maine Maritime Fr
3B Aimee Mortensen Husson Fr
1B/P Nicole Sargent Husson Jr
OF Brianna Webster Husson So
All-Conference Second Team   
OF Ashley Allegreni Johnson St. Sr
OF Mallorie Blakney Thomas Jr
SS Megan Blongy Castleton Fr
OF Lily Barry Farmington Fr
DP Kaitlyn Bartlett Farmington Fr
P/DP Casey McCloskey Maine Maritime Fr
C Samantha Moore Thomas Fr
P/1B Megan Richard Husson Jr
P/2B Jessica Timmreck Farmington Jr
Player of the Year   
OF Dottie Cameron Husson Jr
Rookie of the Year   
3B Aimee Mortensen Husson Fr
Coach of the Year   
  Katrina Dagan Maine Maritime
Team Sportsmanship Award   
  Lyndon State