Husson Men's Basketball Heads to Williamstown for NCAA First Round



NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Interactive Bracket

NCAA DIII Men's Basketball Bracket Announcement

NCAA DIII Men's Basketball Championship Home

The NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2019 championship. Husson University, the 2019 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Champion, will take on Williams College in the first round of the national tournament. The Eagles will travel to Williamstown, Mass. to play the Ephs on their home court.

Husson (17-10) entered the NAC Tournament as the No. 2 seed and finished with their seventh Conference Championship overall, and third in four years. The 82-67 win over Thomas earned the Eagles the NAC automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. Williams (20-6) fell to eventual NESCAC Champion Amherst in the conferences' semifinal round, and enters the national tournament with an at-large bid. Plattsburg State (20-6) and Gwynedd Mercy (19-8) will match up on Friday as well, with the winners playing on Saturday for the right to advance to the sectional round.

The tournament field consists of 64 teams. Forty-three conferences were granted automatic qualification for the 2019 championship. The remaining 21 tournament bids were granted to one Pool B team and twenty at-large teams from the remaining independent teams and automatic-qualifying conferences who do not receive their conference automatic qualification. They were selected by using specific selection criteria approved by the Division III Championships Committee.

Sixteen four-team sites will host first- and second-round games on the opening Friday, March 1/Saturday, March 2. Sectional sites for the advancing 16 teams will be determined on March 3. The 2019 national semifinals and championship game will be played March 15-16 in Fort Wayne, Indiana at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum

Nebraska Wesleyan sits atop the latest rankings, followed by Whitman and Augustana. Nebraska Wesleyan won its first national title last season in Salem, Virginia