Colby-Sawyer Captures Fourth-Straight NAC East Division Crown

For the Interactive Tournament Bracket - click HERE.
For the Printable (PDF) Tournament Bracket - click HERE.

NEW LONDON, N.H. – The Colby-Sawyer College men's tennis team defeated Thomas College, 5-0 to win its fourth straight North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division championship.

The Chargers improve to 11-9 and advance to play Penn State Abington in next weekend's NAC/NEAC Crossover match with a trip to the NCAA Tournament on the line. The match will take place on May 3 at 1:00 p.m. at the Sportime Tennis Club in Schenectady, N.Y. The two teams will meet for the second-straight season as the Nittany Lions defeated Penn State Berks 5-0 in the NAC West Division title match. Colby-Sawyer won last year's crossover match 8-1.

To view the championship highlights video, please click HERE.

The Chargers swept doubles play to take an important 3-0 lead in the match. The No. 3 doubles duo of Sergio Spassof (Pallini, Greece) and Dean Boodakian (Burlington, Mass.) got the Chargers' first point with an 8-0 victory over Jonte Roussel (Brockton, Mass.) and Caleb Cough (Bar Harbor, Maine). Seconds later, Justin Pinard (Essex, Vt.) and Andrew Peloquin (Greenville, R.I.) won at No. 2, 8-0 over Zach Disch (Waterville, Maine) and Federico Trujillo (Standish, Maine). The top doubles match was back and forth and tied at 4-4 before Colby-Sawyer's Cass McCann (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) and Rico Bailey (Mattapan, Mass.) went on a run to secure an 8-5 victory over Tyler Small (Surry, Maine) and Eric Morin (Lewiston, Maine).

Boodakian gave Colby-Sawyer a 4-0 lead with a 6-0, 6-0 win at No. 6 singles. Boodakian won all four of his matches today and was named Tournament MVP. Spassof closed the match with a 6-2, 6-1 win at No. 4. He was named to the All-Tournament team.

--Courtesy of Colby-Sawyer Sports Information

NAC Eastern Division All-Tournament Team

Tournament MVP
Colby-Sawyer – Dean Boodakian

All-Tournament Team
Colby-Sawyer – Sergio Spassof
Thomas – Tyler Small
Castleton – Ryan Mulder
Green Mountain – Nate Berner-Tobin

For the Interactive Tournament Bracket - click HERE.
For the Printable (PDF) Tournament Bracket - click HERE.


Sunday, April 26
Hosted by Colby-Sawyer
All dates and times are tentative and subject to change due to inclement weather 

Semifinals - 10:00 a.m.
Match 1 - No. 1 Colby-Sawyer 9, No. 4 Green Mountain 0 - Boxscore
Match 2 - No. 3 Thomas 7, No. 2 Castleton 2 - Boxscore

Championship Match
Match 3 - No. 1 Colby-Sawyer 5, No. 3 Thomas 0 - Boxscore

Don't forget to become a fan of the NAC on Facebook, and follow the NAC on Twitter at @nacathletics.

Beginning with the 2010 season, the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) in men's and women's tennis. The NEAC will compete as associate members of the NAC in men's tennis. Members from each conference will be divided into an East and West Division, with each division holding a championship and the two divisional champions then facing off to determine the conference champion. The conference winner will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championship.