NAC Men's Tennis Weekly Honors (Week Ending April 30)


Ryan Sawyer, Colby-Sawyer
(Sr. - Edgartown, Mass.)

Sawyer earned NAC East Tournament MVP honors after leading the Chargers to their sixth-straight crown. The senior teamed up with Dean Boodakian at No. 2 doubles for 8-0 wins in each of their matches in the NAC East Semifinals and Finals. Sawyer also did not drop a game in his No. 3 singles victory in the Semifinals over MCLA and was leading in his No. 4 match in the finals when the Chargers clinched the match and 2-17 Title. 




Ryan Chasse, Thomas 
(Fr. - Fort Kent, Maine)

Chasse went 2-1 in his first NAC East Tournament experience on Saturday as the Terriers defeated Castleton 5-4 in the Semifinals and fell to Colby-Sawyer 6-0 in the Championship. In the Semifinals versus Castleton, the rookie battled back after dropping the first set in No. 1 singles to win 3-6, 6-3, 6-2. Then he teamed up with Zachary Disch to win No. 1 doubles 9-7. In the championship matchup, Chasse and Disch fell to first team doubles pair Gustav Jigrup and Alex Wright. Chasse trailed NAC Player of the Year, Jigrup, 6-5 in the first set before the match was ended. 





For the Interactive Tournament Bracket - click HERE.
For the Printable (PDF) Tournament Bracket - click HERE.

The Colby-Sawyer men's tennis team swept MCLA, 9-0 in the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division Semifinals before earning a 6-0 triumph over Thomas in the finals to claim the program's sixth-straight East Division title.

The Chargers (13-10) will now play Penn State Berks (10-5) in the NAC/NEAC Crossover Championship with a trip to the NCAA Tournament on the line. The Nittany Lions won their first NAC West Division title with a 6-3 victory over Penn State Abington earlier this week. The Crossover Championship match will take place on Sunday, May 7, at the Tri-City Tennis Club in Latham, N.Y.

Championship Match - No. 1 Colby-Sawyer 6, No. 2 Thomas 0 - Boxscore

The Chargers swept doubles play to take an important 3-0 lead in the match. At the top flight, the Colby-Sawyer duo of Gustav Jigrup and Alex Wright defeated Ryan Chasse and Zach Disch, 8-2. The No. 2 tandem of Dean Boodakian and Ryan Sawyer then cruised to an 8-0 win over Kaleb Payson and Jared Waterhouse. Cass McCann and Andrew Peloquin combined for an 8-1 win over Ross Munn and Mark Amato at No. 3.

Boodakian was the first to finish his singles match to give Colby-Sawyer a 4-0 lead after a 6-0, 6-1 win over Payson at No. 5. Ryan Broderick got the match clinching point with a 6-0, 6-1 win over Amato at No. 6. Seconds later, Alex Wright posted a 6-0, 6-1 win at the second flight to give Colby-Sawyer the 6-0 win.

NAC East Division All-Tournament Team:

Tournament MVP
Colby-Sawyer – Ryan Sawyer 

All-Tournament Team
Colby-Sawyer – Ryan Broderick
Colby-Sawyer – Dean Boodakian
Thomas – Ryan Chasse
Thomas – Zach Disch
Castleton – Quentin Barthe
MCLA – Robert Wabshinak

--Courtesy of Colby-Sawyer Sports Information

A video will be made available early next week on the NAC website for fans to view the 2017 NAC East Championship highlights.


Saturday, April 29, 2017
Hosted by Colby-Sawyer College

Match 1 - No. 1 Colby-Sawyer 9, No. 4 MCLA 0 - Boxscore
Match 2 - No. 2 Thomas 5, No. 3 Castleton 4 - Boxscore 

Championship Match
Match 3 - No. 1 Colby-Sawyer 6, No. 2 Thomas 0 - Boxscore

*Beginning with the 2010 season, the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) in the sport of men's and women's tennis. The NEAC will compete as associate members of the NAC in men's tennis, while the NAC will compete as associate members of the NEAC in women's tennis.  Members from each conference will be divided into an East and West Division for each sport, with each division holding a championship and the two divisional champions then facing off to determine the conference champion. The conference winner for each sport will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships. 

NAC members Castleton, Colby-Sawyer, Green Mountain, Johnson State, Lyndon, MCLA and Thomas will compete in the East Division. NEAC members Bryn Athyn, Lancaster Bible, Penn College, Penn State Abington and Penn State Berks will play as associate members of the NAC in a West Division.