Colby-Sawyer Men's Tennis to Play Baruch in NCAA Tournament

For the NCAA Interactive Tournament Bracket - click HERE.

The Colby-Sawyer men's tennis team will play Baruch College of the City University of New York Athletic Conference (CUNYAC) on Thursday in the NCAA Tournament First Round. The match will be played in Middlebury, Vermont at Middlebury College.   

Colby-Sawyer is riding a 6-match winning streak and has not dropped a point during that stretch. The Chargers are 14-10 overall and will make a fifth straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament after winning Sunday's North Atlantic Conference (NAC)/North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) crossover championship. In last year's NCAA Tournament, the Chargers came very close to recording the program's first tournament victory but fell to Nichols, 5-4.  

Baruch (11-2) enters its seventh NCAA Tournament with an 11-match win streak. After dropping the first two contests of the season, the Bearcats ran the table and captured the program's 12th CUNYAC Tournament Championship.  The last time Baruch appeared in the NCAA Tournament was in 2014 and the Bearcats earned a 5-0 win over Neumann before falling to Johns Hopkins.

The lone meeting between the Chargers and Bearcats was in 2003. Colby-Sawyer won 9-0.  

The winner of the Colby-Sawyer/Baruch match will play the regional host and top-ranked Panthers of Middlebury (18-3) on Friday.

The other Thursday first round match is between TCNJ (14-3) and Cabrini (11-5). The winner will play 25th-ranked Skidmore (11-6).

Match times will be announced on Tuesday.

The NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships. The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 11-14. University of the South and the Chattanooga Sports Commission will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 22-27 at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee.  

The championship provides for a 43-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 35 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Two teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining six teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.