SUNY Canton Wins 2019 NAC Women's Lacrosse Championship

Canton, NY – Jessica Pele, MaryClare Bowes, and Molly Denny combined for 16 points as the SUNY Canton (14-5) women's lacrosse team earned a 19-4 win versus UMaine-Farmington (8-9) to capture the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Women's Lacrosse Championship on Saturday.

The Roos made school history as they became the first SUNY Canton team to earn a trip to the NCAA Tournament, earning the NAC's automatic qualifier to the 2019 NCAA Division III Championship. NCAA Selections are Sunday at 9:30 PM - watch live HERE.


  • Pele led all players with six points (four goals, two assists), eight ground balls, five caused turnovers and added four draw controls. Bowes (five goals) and Molly Denny (two goals, three assists) finished with five points each. Denny set a new single-season program record with 90 points, while Bowes reached the 200-career point mark.
  • Erin Parks recorded a pair of goals, while Logan Bush and Cecelia Neally had a goal and assist each. Allison Wakefield, EllaRose LeMay, Stephanie Thayer and Emily Vogt also scored for SUNY Canton.
  • The hosts jumped out to a 5-1 lead and took a 13-2 advantage into intermission. The Roos continued to control play after halftime outscoring the Beavers, 6-2.
  • Isabella Monbouquette paced UMF with two goals and two assists, while Samantha Cross and Kaya Backman also scored.
  • Mia Jermano totaled five caused turnovers for the Roos, while Bush tallied four draw controls.
  • Nicole Piskorowski played the first half and earned the win, while Madison Leary took over in relief for the second half as neither Canton goalie made a save, while allowing two goals each. Heather Boland totaled 12 stops for the Beavers.
  • Pele was named the Most Valuable Player of the Tournament after posting seven goals, four assists, 11 ground balls, nine draw controls and six caused turnovers in the tournament. Bowes, Denny and Bush joined her on the All-Tournament Team, while Bouquette, Cross and Boland earned spots on the All-Tournament Team for the visitors.

All-Tournament Team
Maddy Olsen – Husson
Cali Newton – Husson
Sydney Adams – Maine Maritime
Julia Dillon – Maine Maritime
Isabella Monbouquette – UMaine Farmington
Samantha Cross – UMaine Farmington
Heather Boland – UMaine Farmington
Logan Bush – SUNY Canton
Molly Denny – SUNY Canton
MaryClare Bowes – SUNY Canton
Jessica Pele – SUNY Canton (MVP)

~Courtesy of SUNY Canton Sports Information