SUNY Canton Women's Lacrosse Draws Brockport in NCAA First Round


2019 CHAMPIONSHIP: View the 2019 interactive bracket | Regional rankings | Season stats

The 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship bracket was revealed this evening. Forty-two teams were selected to the single-elimination tournament, including thirty-one conference champions who were granted automatic qualification into the field. 

SUNY Canton (14-5) earned the automatic qualification for the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) with a 19-4 conference championship victory over UMaine-Farmington on the Roos' home turf yesterday, May 4. This is the first NCAA tournament appearance for SUNY Canton, in any sport.

Canton will play Brockport College (15-4) in a first-round game this Saturday. Brockport won the conference championship and the automatic bid for the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC). The winner of the Canton/Brockport game will advance to the second round on Sunday with host St. John Fisher (17-1). The Cardinals are ranked No. 12 in the nation and won their eight-consecutive Empire 8 conference championship today.

The team that emerges from the second round will advance to the regional round against the winner of another three-team pod with Endicott (14-5), Misercordia (14-5), and host York College (15-5). 

The first and second rounds will begin May 11 and 12, with regional competition following on May 18 and 19. The semifinals and national championship game will be played May 25 and 26 at Day Field in Richmond, Virginia.

In 2018, Gettysburg captured its second straight national championship with an 11-9 title game victory over Middlebury.