2007 NAC Volleyball All-Conference Teams Announced

Elms junior middle hitter Jeannette Nunez was selected the North Atlantic Conference Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. In her first year in the conference, Nunez led the league in hitting percentage (.392), kills per game (4.40) and service aces per game (1.70).

Maine Maritime freshman Ashley Tilton was honored as the conference Rookie of the Year. The outside hitter was ranked among the league leaders in hitting percentage and digs averaging 3.69 digs per conference contest while hitting .286.

Elms head coach Cathy Markowski was honored as NAC Coach of the Year. Markowski, who is in her third year with the Blazers, has engineered a turn around at Elms taking a team which was 3-7 in conference play a season ago and challenging for the conference title with a 6-2 mark and berth in the NAC tournament semifinals.

Thomas College was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.


 2007 NAC Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams

First Team      
Becca Allen Sr. S Maine Maritime
Allison Chepke So. OH Husson
Michelle Ferry So. OH Maine Maritime
Lindsey Marek So. MH Lesley
Jeannette Nunez Jr. MH Elms
Danielle O’Brien Jr. MH Maine-Farmington
Ashley Tilton Fr. OH Maine Maritime
Second Team      
Meagan Dube Sr. MH Maine-Farmington
Marion Kish So. S Husson
Cassandra O’Neil Jr. MH Husson
Kim Phillips So. S Elms
Gianna Spaziante Jr. S Lesley
Amy Young So. MH Maine Maritime
Honorable Mention      
Melissa Clark So. OH Elms
Jamie Lemieux So. MH Castleton
Kelly Rossitto Sr. L Becker
Rachel Russell Sr. MH Husson
Anya Vines Sr. DS Lesley
Player of the Year      
Jeannette Nunez Jr. MH Elms
Rookie of the Year      
Ashley Tilton Fr. OH Maine Maritime
Coach of the Year      
Cathy Markowski     Elms
Team Sportsmanship Award