2009 NAC Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams Announced

Maine Maritime outside hitter Chelsea Ward was selected the North Atlantic Conference Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Ward led the conference in hitting percentage (.493) while ranking second in kills per game (4.55) leading the Mariners to an undefeated 7-0 mark in conference play and top seed in the NAC Championship.

Castleton freshman middle blocker Ashley Kepaa was honored as the conference Rookie of the Year. Kepaa ranked among the league leaders in several categories including service aces, blocks, hitting percentage and kills averaging 4.44 kills per conference set while hitting .259.

Maine Maritime head coach Katrina Dagan was honored as NAC Coach of the Year. Dagan, who is in her 6th season with the Mariners, has led her squad to two consecutive NAC Championships and is the top seed in the upcoming NAC Tournament.

Johnson State College was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.

View Complete Release

2009 NAC Women's Volleyball All-Conference Team


First Team
Emma Brinley-Buckley Sr. MH Green Mountain
Ashley Kepaa Fr. MB Castleton
Jamie Lemieux Sr. MH Castleton
Kaitlyn McKay So. MH Husson
Chelsea Ward So. OH Maine Maritime
Amy Young Sr. MH Maine Maritime
Second Team   
Kayla Brobst So. MH Lyndon State
Jennifer Dixon Fr. S Maine Maritime
Marion Kish Sr. S Husson
Shannon Mitchell So. MH Farmington
Hannah Olstad Fr. MH Husson
Jenna Rowan Sr. OH Farmington
Lauren Sakahara So L Maine Maritime
Player of the Year      
Chelsea Ward So. OH Maine Maritime
Rookie of the Year   
Ashley Kepaa Fr. MB Castleton
Coach of the Year      
Katrina Dagan     Maine Maritime
Team Sportsmanship Award
Johnson State College