2010 NAC Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams Announced

Maine Maritime student-athletes swept the North Atlantic Conference post-season awards placing three members on the all-conference first team including the Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year.

Mariner outside hitter Chelsea Ward was selected the NAC Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Ward led the conference in hitting percentage (.670) and kills per set (4.85) leading the Mariners to an undefeated 6-0 mark in conference play and top seed in the NAC Championship.

Middle hitter Melissa Lail was honored as the conference Rookie of the Year. Lail was fourth in the league in hitting percentage (.321), kills per set (2.95) and blocks per set (.47) in her first season at Maine Maritime.

Junior libero Lauren Sakahara was named the NAC Defensive Player of the Year. Sakahara, who was also a first-team selection, led the conference in digs averaging 3.53 digs per set.

Maine Maritime head coach Katrina Dagan was honored as NAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. Dagan, who is in her 7th season with the Mariners, has led her squad to three consecutive NAC Championships and is the top seed in the upcoming NAC Tournament.

Johnson State College was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award for the second season in a row. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.

View Complete Release

2010 NAC Women's Volleyball All-Conference Team

First Team   
Ashley Kepaa So MB Castleton
Melissa Lail Fr MH Maine Maritime
Shannon Mitchell Jr MB Farmington
Hannah Olstad So MH Husson
Lauren Sakahara Jr L Maine Maritime
Chelsea Ward Jr OH Maine Maritime
Second Team   
Olesea Cojohari Sr OH Green Mountain
Jennifer Dixon So S Maine Maritime
Aleta Johnson So S Husson
Kaitlyn McKay Jr MH Husson
Chelsea Schlosser Fr S/RS Castleton
Michelle Smith So OH Husson
Player of the Year   
Chelsea Ward Jr. OH Maine Maritime
Defensive Player of the Year   
Lauren Sakahara Jr. L Maine Maritime
Rookie of the Year   
Melissa Lail Fr. MH Maine Maritime
Coach of the Year   
Katrina Dagan     Maine Maritime
Team Sportsmanship Award   
Johnson State College