New England College Crowned Women's Cross Country Champs

New England College, 2013 NAC Women's Cross Country Champions New England College took top honors, winning the 2013 Women's Cross Country Championship for the first time in program history with a score of 50 at Quarry Road Park hosted by Thomas College on Sunday afternoon.

The Pilgrims were led by Abby Shafer, who won the individual championship with a time of 20:40. NEC had three runners in the top ten and edged out defending champion Husson by three points, who finished second despite having two of the top three runners in the race.

Colby-Sawyer came in third with 67 points and Castleton placed fourth with 103 points, while University of Maine at Farmington rounded out the top five with 128. Lyndon came in sixth (164), Green Mountain in seventh at 205, and Maine Maritime Academy in eighth at 206. Johnson State (222) and Thomas rounded out the remaining ten-school field.

Teammates Alecia Palmer (20:50.54) and Chrissy Larrabee (20:50.68) of Husson battled for the runner-up spot, while Kylee Parker of Colby-Sawyer finished fourth at 21:23, and Mariah Eilers (Castleton) rounded out the top five at 21:27.