Prince, James, and Smith Collect Women's Cross Country Elite Honors



Northern Vermont-Lyndon Freshman Zosia Prince was the first to cross the line at the 2018 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Women's Cross Country Championship and earned both NAC Runner and Rookie of the Year.

In a vote of the conference coaches and Faculty Athletic Representatives (FARs), Sierra James of Maine Maritime was honored as the Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year. UMaine-Presque Isle head coach Chris Smith was selected by his peers as the Coach of the Year, and eight women's cross country student athletes were named to the Sportsmanship Team to headline the 2018 All-Conference announcement.


Zosia Prince (Sutton, VT) cruised to the 2018 NAC Women's Cross Country individual title, running the muddy 5k in 20:49.64 - which was 30 seconds ahead of the runner up. The freshman collected Runner of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors in one fell swoop, leading the Hornets to a fourth place finish overall. Prince impressed all year, sweeping Runner and Rookie of the week honors after a top NAC finish at the competitive UMass-Dartmouth Invitational in mid-September. She would add three more Rookie of the Week honors, including the week ending with the NAC Championship, with notable finishes at the Vermont State Championship held at her home course as well as the Western New England Invitational.

Sierra James (Campton, NH) is recognized as the 2018 NAC Women's Cross Country Senior Scholar Athlete for excelling academically and athletically throughout her undergraduate experience. A marine biology major with a 3.59 GPA, she has been on the Dean's List every semester while enrolled at Maine Maritime. She was recently recognized as a Henry A. Sheel Scholar, which recognizes students at the Academy who best exemplify intellectual curiosity and achievement. James is conducting her senior research this semester on "Cardiac response of Carcinus maenas and Cancer irroratus under acute hypoxia exposure." She is conducting physiological studies on the heart rates of two species of crabs found locally in Maine when exposed to hypoxic (low oxygen) conditions and comparing them to see if one crab has a physiological advantage over the other when dealing with this environmental condition. James is a four-year Women's Cross Country runner who has distinguished herself as a member of the NAC Sportsmanship Team (2016) as well as the NAC All-Academic Team (2016, 2017). She has been the top runner for Maine Maritime for the past two years, this year receiving the NAC Women's Runner of the Week (October 16th) and All-Conference Second Team recognition. She is a multisport athlete, also participating on the Women's Lacrosse team as goalie and midfielder. She is the Treasurer for the Class of 2019 and has helped to organize various class activities, including the Junior year ring dance.  Sierra plans to attend veterinary school.


Veteran Coach Chris Smith of UMaine-Presque Isle was selected by his peers as the 2018 NAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year. Coach Smith led the team to a third place finish this year, after finishing 10th in 2017. The Owls placed three runners on the 2018 All-Conference Team and all five scoring runners were in the top 22 (5, 10, 11, 18, 22). UMaine-Presque Isle freshman Valentine Degiovanni was recognized as the NAC Rookie of the Week five times, and swept Runner and Rookie of the Week honors to open the season. Smith's team won the season-opening meet at home, finished third at the Mariner Invitational, and runner up at the Thomas Invitational.

The medalist and the next seven finishers at the NAC Championship are honored as All-Conference First Team runners, while the next seven are named to the All-Conference Second Team.

Joining Prince on the All-Conference First Team are Lindsey Joliat, Julia Glisson and Isabelle Jackson of Husson; Julia Labbe, Chloe Kenyon and Gwen Baker of UMaine-Farmington, and freshman Valentine Degiovanni of UMaine-Presque Isle.

Joining James on the All Conference Second Team are Emmy Churchill and Irina Norkin also of Presque Isle; Abigail Hunt and Shayna Frost of Farmington; Madeline Hewitt of SUNY Canton, and Renee Dostal of Husson.

Click here for full 2018 Championship results.

The NAC Women's Cross Country Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees have positively affected the sport culture and environment, and demonstrate sportsmanship and integrity in their behavior.


2018 NAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Honors

First Team All-Conference      
Zosia Prince Freshman Sutton, Vermont Northern Vermont-Lyndon
Lindsey Joliat Junior Brewer, Maine Husson
Julia Labbe Sophomore Turner, Maine UMaine-Farmington
Chloe Kenyon Junior Gloucester, Massachusetts UMaine-Farmington
Valentine Degiovanni Freshman Nice, France UMaine-Presque Isle
Julia Glisson Sophomore Merrimack, New Hampshire Husson
Isabelle Jackson Freshman Presque Isle, Maine Husson
Gwen Baker Senior Windham, Maine UMaine-Farmington
Second Team All-Conference      
Sierra James Senior Campton, New Hampshire Maine Maritime
Emmy Churchill Junior Washburn, Maine UMaine-Presque Isle
Irina Norkin Freshman Denmark, Maine UMaine-Presque Isle
Abigail Hunt Freshman Monmouth, Maine UMaine-Farmington
Madeline Hewitt Junior Fabius, New York SUNY Canton
Shayna Frost Sophomore Monmouth, Maine UMaine-Farmington
Renee Dostal Freshman Saco, Maine Husson
Runner of the Year      
Zosia Prince Freshman Sutton, Vermont Northern Vermont- Lyndon
Rookie of the Year      
Zosia Prince Freshman Sutton, Vermont Northern Vermont- Lyndon
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year      
Sierra James Senior Campton, New Hampshire Maine Maritime Academy
Coach of the Year      
Chris Smith     UMaine-Presque Isle
Sportsmanship Team      
Kiersten Harvey Sophomore Beekmantown, N.Y. SUNY Canton
Chloe Kenyan Junior Gloucester, Mass. UMaine-Farmington
Erin Kashian Freshman Caribou, Maine Husson University
Sarah Sodaro Senior Monkton, Vt. Northern Vermont-Johnson
Sarah Levesque Senior North Smithfield, R.I. Northern Vermont-Lyndon
Alex Allen Senior Easton, Maine Maine Maritime Academy
Chenoa Jackson Senior Wilton, Maine UMaine-Presque Isle
Natalie Corrigan Junior Oakland, Maine Thomas College


Click HERE to download a pdf list of the 2018 honorees.